The Carnegie Library was finished in 1905. The main architects of the building were John Tourtellotte and partner, Charles Hummel. The library was mainly founded by a group of women in Boise called the Women’s Columbian Club who wrote a letter to Andrew Carnegie and received a grant from him to build the library. Carnegie was the main money provider for the project. When the building was completed, it became Boise’s first public library. Through the years, a bigger library was built leaving only a remembrance of the heritage of the Carnegie Library. In 1974, the building was put on the National Registry, making it a historical marker in Boise.
Renaissance revival is the style of the building showcasing adaptations of Greek or Roman styles. The style was supposed to reflect a respect for wisdom and scholarship through towering columns, prominent keystones beset upon swooping arches. Also notably the sandstone foundation was quarried from Table Rock. Now, the building is used as a law office restored by Cosho Humphrey Greener and Welsh Law Firm (later renamed Greener Banducci Shoemaker Law Firm).