West Junior High School was built on the busy Curtis Road in 1952 to 1953 with federal funds from public law 815. Its somewhat intricate architecture shows through in the complex roof design, the unique color combination, and the art moderne circle pattern located at the front entrance. The peaks that were added in 1997 were there to prevent water leakage during heavy storms. The gym ceiling has low beams, original to the structure, and could not be changed during the roof reconstruction. West Junior High has an array of additions including one for art classes and computer rooms. These became a necessity in the year 1972. In 1976 the school funded an additional counselor’s office and more locker rooms for the students. In the years following the school added carpeting, classroom telephones, and air conditioning which was prevalent from outside the school with its green cylindrical vents. The walkways were added between the buildings throughout the years to help the students get to the cafeteria, which is in a separate building added in 1968. Among the school’s many traditions, there is a continuing room of memories located in the upstairs boiling room where all graduating students used to sign the walls. Now it is mainly left for student council members and other important student leaders. There are signatures that date back to its opening in the mid 1950s.
In the summer of 2008 West Junior High will be torn down.